Second Class of Spiritual Directors Graduates

Post a Comment » Written on August 15th, 2008     
Filed under: News
CHICAGO, IL (August 15, 2008) – The Center for Spiritual Direction at North Park Theological Seminary recently graduated its second class of students.

Dr. C. John Weborg preached at the communion worship service celebrating the 17 newly certified spiritual directors on July 27. Dr Wayne Weld, interim Dean of Faculty awarded the certificates.

ClassPrior to graduation, students met for an intensive week each of three years, which was supplemented by online class work, development of their spiritual practices, and monthly meetings with their own spiritual directors.

Spiritual direction is a process by which directors help directees discern and respond to the movement of God in their lives. They may introduce the person to well-tested practices of “lectio divina” (slow reading), biblical meditation and contemplative prayer.

“In the current age of spirituality awareness, the North Park program is distinctly evangelical, biblical and Christian,” says Mary Miller, director of the school’s Making Connections initiative. “Many of the teachers, practitioners and group supervisors are part of the Covenant community. Spiritual direction is a natural strength for ministering in the denomination because of the Covenant roots in healthy pietism and heartwarming personal experiences with God.”

The Center for Spiritual Direction was begun as part of the Lilly Endowment’s Sustaining Pastoral Excellence grant. This is the fourth year of summer classes. Those interested in the program should contact Eric Palmquist at 773-244-5532.

This year’s graduates are Marc Bellart of San Diego, California; Davis Dillon of Highland Ranch, Colorado; Andrew Fortune of Balfour, British Columbia; Randall Friesen of Prince Albert, Saskatchewan; Tom Glossi of Fort Collins, Colorado; Marilyn Humphrey of Detroit, Michigan; Bruce Johnson of Langley, British Columbia; Tom King of Missoula, Montana; Linea Lanoie of Prince Albert, Saskatchewan; Scott Orth from Edina, Minnesota; Pia Pena-Restrepo of Malaga, Spain; Lina Sanchez-Herrera of Naperville, Illinois; Nader Sahyouni of Skokie, Illinois; Diane Schouten of Santa Clara, California; Stan Shipley of Yakima, Washington; Neil Taylor of Chicago, Illinois; and Lisa Way of Raleigh, North Carolina.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Report This Post

Leave a Reply

Report This Blog