Miericke Award Given, Two New Churches Welcomed

Post a Comment » Written on April 25th, 2008     
Filed under: News
ATLANTA, GA (April 25, 2008) – Nearly 200 delegates and guests to the 45th Southeast Conference Annual Meeting honored Ray Keener as the first recipient of the annual Dr. Kurt Miericke Award for Compassion, Mercy and Justice Ministries.

Keener is director of the Grace Garage Ministries of Faith Covenant Church in St. Petersburg, Florida. The award, named for the former conference superintendent, was presented during the Friday evening banquet.

Grace Garage reconditions some donated vehicles and repairs others for church attendees and other people in the community who cannot afford them. Since 2005, when the ministry started, eight people have received cars.

The 67 delegates also celebrated the start of one church and the adoption of another. New Life Covenant Church has been formed in Savannah, Georgia, with Rod Sprauve serving as pastor. All Nations Church in Norcross, Georgia, was adopted, with Frank Appiah as pastor.

Other business included:
•    The election of new conference executive board members: Pastor Dave Shaw of Covenant Community in Deland, Florida; Dan Neal of Kallam Grove Covenant in Madison, North Carolina; Rachel Sands of Kingdom Builders Covenant in Decatur, Georgia, and Debra Hartmark of Commissioned Disciples Covenant Church in Stone Mountain, Georgia.
•    The election of new conference executive board officers: chair Deric Gilliard of Commissioned Disciples Covenant Church; vice chair Cathy Neal of Kallam Grove Covenant Church in Madison, North Carolina; treasurer Peco Forsman of Silverhill Covenant Church in Silver Hill, Alabama, and secretary David Shaw of Covenant Community Church in Deland, Florida.

Metro-Atlanta Covenant churches served as host for the meeting, including Commissioned Disciples, New Life Covenant, Kingdom Builders Covenant Church, and Trinity World Christian Center.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Report This Post

Leave a Reply

Report This Blog