ACCW Seeks Nominees for 2007 Awards

Post a Comment » Written on February 27th, 2007     
Filed under: News
PINE LAKE, GA (February 27, 2007) – The Association for Covenant Clergy Women (ACCW) is seeking nominations for its 2007 awards.

The Anderson/Nordlund Missionary Scholarship is a $500 scholarship for continued training and education awarded to a full-time female missionary on assignment through the Department of World Mission of the Evangelical Covenant Church (ECC) and supported by a local Covenant church. Martha Anderson and Esther Nordlund were among the first three Covenant martyrs killed January 7, 1948, by bandits in China.

The Priscilla Pastorate Grant is a $1,000 award offered to a full-time ECC female pastor – senior, co-pastor, an associate, or a pastor of youth or children. The grant is named for Priscilla, who with her husband, Aquila, was a tentmaker in Rome and traveled with the apostle Paul on his missionary journeys.

The Mordecai Award for Outstanding Partnership is given to a male minister – administrator, teacher, pastor or missionary – who has supported women in ministry through providing advocacy, resources, support and dialogue on behalf of all women in ministry. In Esther Chapter 2, Mordecai partners with Esther to save her people.

Nominations are due by May 1.

The ACCW became an awarding association in 2006 in honor of the 30th anniversary of the Covenant’s decision to ordain women. The goal of the awards program is to tell the story of what God is doing in and through the diverse ministries of women and those men who advocate on their behalf, says ACCW President Catherine Gilliard.

In 2006, the first Victoria Welter Scholarship was awarded to Ileana Garcia-Soto; the first Phoebe Church Planter’s Grant was awarded to Pastor Jocelyn Thornton, and the first Evelyn M.R. Johnson Leadership Award was awarded to Pacific Southwest Conference Supt. Evelyn Johnson during the ACCW meeting in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The three awards will be presented again in 2008.

The recipients of the 2007 awards will be recognized during the ACCW meeting held during the ECC Annual Meeting in Portland, Oregon.

For more information, email Catherine Gilliard or call  her at 770-987-7110.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Report This Post

Leave a Reply

Report This Blog