Evelyn M.R. Johnson Leadership Award

Post a Comment » Written on March 7th, 2006     
Filed under: News
CHICAGO, IL (March 7, 2006) – The Evelyn M.R. Johnson Leadership Award provides $500 and a commemorative plaque.

The award is named in honor of Evelyn M.R. Johnson, superintendent of the Pacific Southwest Conference of the Evangelical Covenant Church (ECC) – the first female to serve as a conference superintendent. She has given leadership to students, has served as a minister of education and pastor of spiritual formation in two churches, has served as associate dean of external programming, and has served the denomination as director of Christian education. She also is the author of one book and co-author of another. Her life mission is to inspire, encourage and equip persons to discover and use their gifts.

Eligibility: Nominated female minister in an ECC setting (administrators, teachers, pastors, missionaries, etc.) who has demonstrated excellence in ministry based on character, ministerial identity, contribution to the Covenant and faithfulness to the ministerial call.

Application: Deadline for applications is April 1. The award is given bi-annually in even numbered years. Applications will be reviewed by the ACCW Award Selection Team, which includes members of the ACCW Board, a member of the Commission for Biblical Gender Equality, and a member of the Covenant Ministerium board.

Notification of Scholarship Award: The recipient should be notified by May 1. It is expected that the recipient will attend the ACCW business meeting in June.

Recognition and Distribution: Recipient will receive the award as part of the ACCW meeting during the Evangelical Covenant Church Annual Meeting in June.

Requirements: A completed ACCW Evelyn M.R. Johnson Leadership Award nomination form (no self-nominating, please), which is available from conference offices, and a one-page single-space essay describing why the nominee should be considered for the award. The individual submitting the nomination should include the relationship to the nominee and the way in which this person’s ministry has affected the recommending individual’s spiritual journey.

Award: $500 gift paid directly to the recipient, a one-year membership in ACCW, a one-year paid subscription to The Covenant Companion or Covenant Home Altar (recipient’s choice), and a plaque presented during the ACCW business meeting in June.

Information should be mailed to the attention of Catherine Gilliard at ACCW Evelyn M.R. Johnson Leadership Award, P.O. Box 847, Pine Lake, GA, 30072.

Copyright © 2011 The Evangelical Covenant Church.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Report This Post

Leave a Reply

Report This Blog